Lightweight composite specialist INVENT, has supplied on board space structures for the first European Mission to Jupiter.
25 October, 2019

The thirst for knowledge about Jupiter and its icy moons, the largest planet of our solar system and its satellites, will be quenched from 2022 with the ESA “JUICE” Mission.

The preparations for the European space mission JUICE (Jupiter ICy moons Explorer, launch in 2022) are in full swing. The mission is to explore Jupiter and its three largest moons Ganymede, Callisto and Europa. The aim is to investigate the magnetic field and the atmosphere of the giant planet, as well as the ice shells of the three moons where, it is postulated, huge oceans of water can be found, and where there is water, there may be life.

JACS (JUICE Magnetometer Alignment Calibration System) on handling frame

The innovative composite structures used for aerospace projects, which INVENT GmbH Braunschweig specialize in, has the essential component requirements for the measuring instruments on board JUICE. “We have on the one hand, two frames six square meters large, but very delicate made of carbon fiber reinforced plastics (CFRP) for the so-called JUICE magnetometer Alignment Calibration System (JACS, as subcontractor to Portuguese company Lusospace). On the other hand – also made of CFRP, a cylindrical arm for the magnetometer (JMAG as subcontractor to Spanish company SENER Aeroespacial)”, explains Christoph Tschepe, Space Manager at INVENT.

 

 

 

 

Non-destructive testing of JMAG boom element

As the magnetic field of the Jupiter is 20 times as strong as that of the Earth, electrically charged particles accumulate in its vicinity, this leads to an enormous radiation load, which JUICE must be able to cope with. The high-sensitivity magnetometer is therefore on an almost eleven meter long boom secured on the outside of the probe. The magnetometer is intended to detect changes in the magnetic fields of the Jupiter moons, from which conclusions can be drawn on possible water occurrences under the ice surface. For example, is the water saline and is it in motion? This would be a prerequisite for life i.e. microorganisms. “For the magnetometer to observe these changes, it must be able to work very accurately. We therefore had to pay close attention to the fact that no metallic or magnetic particles could get into and onto the cylinder arm”, says Dr Fabian Preller, JUICE project manager at INVENT. “For magnetic or magnetizable particles can cause negative readings on the measurement of the magnetic field.”

Visual inspection of JACS flight hardware

JACS copper coil on CFRP structure

To know where the magnetometer is looking, it has to be calibrated. There are two more “JACS” frames, approximately six square meters, wound with very large air coils, which are wrapped in copper wire and which generate a targeted magnetic field. “The decisive factors here, was the correct ratio of stiffness and weight of the frame. We were particularly challenged making the frame considering the very different temperature co-efficient between the copper and the CFRP”, says Dr Preller. “The solution was to design light, resilient elements at all corners, which are stiff yet elastic enough that they allow the contraction of the copper coil under measurement conditions, but not by vibrations, for example, when experiencing launch loads. The coil will also experience high and low temperatures but with the elements biased, compensation for this is possible. Overall, the frames weigh less than eight kilograms, including the copper wire. The CFRP structure of the frame is around 2.5 kilograms per frame.

INVENT GmbH also has a contract for the so-called plasma Wave instrument Langmuir probe (LP-PWI), four probes, for characterizing plasma, each boom made of CFRP. These are each about 2.7 meters long with a diameter of 20 to 25 millimetres. This instrument requires these booms to ensure that the measurements of the probes are not disturbed by the satellite motion. INVENT manufactured these booms subcontracted by Astronika (Warsaw, Poland) for the development of LP-PWI unit for JUICE RPWI instrument and funded under ESA Prodex contract no. 4000119065/16/NL/JK.

The booms for the “JMAG” and the LP-PWI have been delivered to INVENT’s customers in Spain and Poland with the JACS calibration system to follow on 25th of October 2019 to Portugal. “We are very pleased to be able to make significant contributions to JUICE – the mission, is on the one hand by its size and complexity, highly significant. On the other hand even having the complex relationships between INVENT, ESA and the wider European space industry, all involved in the projects can claim to have kept within the time and cost frame. We are committed to that.” said Space Manager Christoph Tschepe.

 

About INVENT

Passion for Composites

As a recognized lightweight construction specialist for innovative fiber composite technologies in the aerospace, mechanical engineering, automotive, rail vehicles and shipbuilding industries, INVENT GmbH in Braunschweig, Germany , has been developing and producing high-precision structural components since 1996, from the first idea to series production. Their own designers and customer designers, work very closely together with the most diverse of production specialists. So we offer our customers a complete package from a single source with regard to design, production planning, manufacturing processes, mechanical processing, joining and assembly as well as coating and painting to the highest quality standards.

 

About JUICE

In the spring of 2012, Member States of the European Space Agency decided to launch a spacecraft to Jupiter and three of its largest moons – Ganymede, Callisto and Europa.  This was the start of the : JUICE mission ( J U piter I C y moons E xplorer) and it is the first major mission ( “L-Mission”) in the Cosmic Vision Program of the ESA (2015-2025) strategy.  Jupiter is the largest planet in our solar system with a total of 79 known moons; Ganymede, Callisto and Europe have thick ice sheets, among which large oceans are suspected. JUICE will be launched in May 2022 aboard a European Ariane 5 rocket launch, scheduled to arrive at Jupiter in October 2029.  This will be followed by three years of observation time. The spacecraft orbits the largest planet of our solar system and its satellites and collects a variety of data. A total of eleven scientific instruments are provided: in addition to the magnetometer, a laser altimeter and a radar instrument, a wide-angle telephoto camera, an ultraviolet and infrared spectrometer, a submillimetre instrument, a radio-wave and Plasma Measuring device and a particle measuring unit. Germany is scientifically and industrially involved with about 20 percent of JUICE.

 

 

Dr. Fabian Preller
+49 531 24466-24
fabian.preller(at)invent-gmbh.de

Braunschweiger Leichtbau-Spezialist INVENT ist bei erster europäischer Mission zum Jupiter an Bord
25 Oktober, 2019

„JUICE“ will ab 2022 (Wissens-)Durst über den größten Planeten unseres Sonnensystems und seine Trabanten stillen

Die Vorbereitungen für die europäische Raumfahrt-Mission JUICE (JUpiter ICy moons Explorer), die 2022 zum Jupiter und seinen drei größten Monden Ganymed, Callisto und Europa starten soll, laufen auf Hochtouren. Untersucht werden sollen das Magnetfeld und die Atmosphäre des Riesenplaneten sowie die Eispanzer der drei Monde, unter denen riesige Ozeane vermutet werden. Und wo Wasser ist, könnte auch Leben sein.

JACS (JUICE Magnetometer Alignment Calibration System) auf Transportrahmen

Die auf innovativen Faserverbundleichtbau in Luft- und Raumfahrtprojekten spezialisierte INVENT GmbH aus Braunschweig hat wesentliche Komponenten der Messinstrumente an Bord von JUICE gebaut und getestet. „Wir haben zum einen zwei etwa sechs Quadratmeter große, aber sehr filigrane Strukturrahmen aus kohlenstofffaserverstärkten Kunststoffen (CFK) für das so genannte JUICE Magnetometer Alignment Calibration System (JACS im Unterauftrag von Lusospace) entwickelt und zum anderen – ebenfalls aus CFK – den zylindrischen Arm für das Magnetometer (JMAG) im Unterauftrag der SENER Aeroespacial hergestellt und getestet“, erklärt Christoph Tschepe, Bereichsleiter Raumfahrt bei INVENT.

 

 

 

 

Ein Segment des JMAG-Auslegers während der zerstörungsfreien Prüfung

Das Magnetfeld des Jupiters ist 20 Mal so stark wie das der Erde. Elektrisch geladene Teilchen sammeln sich in seiner Nähe, was zu einer enormen Strahlungsbelastung führt, der JUICE gewachsen sein muss. Das hochempfindliche Magnetometer wird deshalb auf einem knapp elf Meter langen Ausleger außerhalb der Sonde befestigt. Das Magnetometer soll Änderungen der Magnetfelder der Jupitermonde detektieren, woraus Rückschlüsse auf mögliche Wasservorkommen unter der Eisoberfläche gezogen werden können – beispielsweise ob das Wasser salzhaltig und in Bewegung ist. Das wäre die Grundvoraussetzung für Leben, vielleicht Mikroorganismen. „Damit das Magnetometer diese Veränderungen beobachten kann, muss es sehr genau arbeiten können. Wir mussten deshalb penibel darauf achten, dass keine metallischen bzw. magnetischen Partikel in und an den Zylinderarm gelangen“, sagt Dr. Fabian Preller, JUICE-Projektleiter bei INVENT. Denn magnetische oder magnetisierbare Partikel können sich negativ auf die Messung des Magnetfeldes auswirken.

Visuelle Inspektion der JACS Flug-Hardware

JACS Kupferspule an CFK-Struktur

Um zu wissen, wohin das Magnetometer schaut, muss es kalibriert werden. Dafür gibt es das „JACS“ – zwei mit rund sechs Quadratmetern sehr große Luftspulen, die mit Kupferdraht umwickelt sind und ein gezieltes Magnetfeld erzeugen. „Entscheidend ist hier das richtige Verhältnis von Steifigkeit und Gewicht des Rahmens. Besonders herausfordernd waren dabei die sehr unterschiedlichen Ausdehnungskoeffizienten zwischen dem Kupfer und dem CFK“, sagt Fabian Preller. Die Lösung sind hier leichte, nachgiebige Elemente an allen Ecken, die derart steif und elastisch sind, dass sie die Kontraktion der Kupferspule zulassen, aber keine Schwingungen, zum Beispiel beim Start der Rakete.
Um die Spulen auch bei hohen Temperaturen fest zu halten, sind diese Elemente zudem vorgespannt. Insgesamt wiegen die zwei Rahmen mit den integrierten Spulen weniger als acht Kilogramm, die CFK-Struktur der Rahmen liegt bei etwa 2,5 Kilogramm pro Rahmen.

Die INVENT GmbH hat außerdem für das so genannte „Langmuir-Probe Plasma Wave Instrument (LP-PWI)“, vier besondere Sonden, mit denen Plasma charakterisiert werden kann, Ausleger aus CFK angefertigt. Diese sind jeweils rund 2,7 Meter lang bei einem Durchmesser von 20 bis 25 Millimetern. Das Instrument benötigt diese Ausleger, damit die Messungen der Sonden nicht durch den Satelliten gestört werden. INVENT fertigte die Ausleger im Unterauftrag des Raumfahrtunternehmens Astronika aus Warschau im Rahmen der Entwicklung der LP-PWI-Einheit als Teil der JUICE Mission mit Mitteln der ESA (Vertragsnummer 4000119065/16/NL/JK).

Die Ausleger für „JMAG“ und das LP-PWI hat der Braunschweiger Mittelständler bereits an seine Kunden in Spanien und Polen ausgeliefert, das Kalibrierungssystem JACS folgte am 25. Oktober 2019 nach Portugal. „Wir freuen uns sehr, wesentliche Beiträge für JUICE leisten zu können – die Mission ist einerseits durch ihre Größe und Komplexität bedeutend, andererseits haben die ESA und die europäische Raumfahrtindustrie den Anspruch, den Zeit- und Kostenrahmen zu halten. Dafür setzen auch wir uns ein“, so Raumfahrt-Bereichsleiter Christoph Tschepe.

 

Über INVENT

PASSION FOR COMPOSITES

Als anerkannter Leichtbau-Spezialist für innovative Faserverbundtechnologien der Branchen Luft- und Raumfahrt, Maschinenbau, Automotive, Schienenfahrzeuge und Schiffbau entwickelt und produziert die INVENT GmbH in Braunschweig als EN 9100 sowie Nadcap zertifiziertes Unternehmen seit 1996 hochpräzise Strukturkomponenten, von der ersten Idee bis zur Serienfertigung. Die eigenen Designer und Konstrukteure arbeiten sehr eng mit den unterschiedlichsten Fertigungsspezialisten zusammen. So bieten wir unseren Kunden ein Gesamtpaket aus einer Hand mit Blick auf Design, Fertigungsplanung, Herstellungsprozesse, mechanische Bearbeitung, Fügen und Montage sowie Lackierung und Qualitätskontrolle.

www.invent-gmbh.de

 

Über JUICE

Im Frühjahr 2012 haben die Mitgliedsstaaten der europäischen Weltraumagentur ESA beschlossen, eine Raumsonde zum Jupiter und zu drei seiner größten Monde – Ganymed, Callisto und Europa – zu starten: JUICE (JUpiter ICy moons Explorer) ist die erste große Mission („L-Mission“) im Cosmic Vision Programm der ESA (2015-2025). Jupiter ist der größte Planet unseres Sonnensystems mit insgesamt 79 bekannten Monden; Ganymed, Callisto und Europa haben dicke Eispanzer, unter denen große Ozeane vermutet werden. JUICE soll im Mai 2022 an Bord einer europäischen Ariane-5-Trägerrakete starten, die Ankunft am Jupiter ist für Oktober 2029 geplant, gefolgt von drei Jahren Beobachtungszeit. Die Raumsonde umkreist dabei den größten Planeten unseres Sonnensystems und seine Trabanten und sammelt unterschiedlichste Daten. Insgesamt sind elf wissenschaftliche Instrumente vorgesehen: neben dem Magnetometer ein Laser-Altimeter und ein Radar-Instrument, eine Weitwinkel- und eine Tele-Kamera, ein Ultraviolett- und ein Infrarot-Spektrometer, ein Submillimeter-Instrument, ein Radiowellen- und Plasma-Messgerät und eine Partikel-Messeinheit. Deutschland ist mit etwa 20 Prozent an JUICE wissenschaftlich und industriell beteiligt.

 

Dr. Fabian Preller
+49 531 24466-24
fabian.preller(at)invent-gmbh.de